Food in Season

eating locally all year long

Local Spotlight – McCormack Apiaries

on April 24, 2012

Proverbs 24:13 Eat honey, my son, for it is good;  honey from the comb is sweet to your taste.

There are so many apiaries near my home. I did not know the bee business was so big in Aliquippa! Today I will tell you about the most common local honey producer I know of in the area.

McCormack Apiaries, Inc.
115 Reeseman Dr.
Aliquippa, PA 15001
724-495–6310

This was the first local honey I bought. They are at all area farmer’s markets. They sell honey in muliple sizes, honeybomb, beeswax, and bee pollen. The nice thing about this local honey is that it is sold in many stores. You dont have to go anywhere special to get it! I think most Giant Eagles carry it. Bilo (in Zelie) carries it, and I have seen it at a few other stores. They have 2 varieties.  The traditional yellow honey (sold in stores) made from pollen from PA wildflowers in the spring and early summer; and red honey (sold at farmer’s markets) made from Japanese knotweed which grows along rivers and highways of Beaver County. I called them a few weeks ago and found out their honey is considered raw honey. Local raw honey is supposed to be good for seasonal allergies.

McCormack Apiaries was established in 1977. It is a family owned and operated local business. They are inspected and certified by the PA Dept. of Agriculture. Honey should not be fed to infants under one year of age.

2 responses to “Local Spotlight – McCormack Apiaries

  1. Beth says:

    How much does it typically cost?

    • juldga says:

      McCormack’s honey is very comparable to other honeys in the store. I am currently buying another kind of honey; but if I remember right I was impressed on how inexpensive it was this summer at the farmer’s market. I am thinking somewhere around $3 for a small honey bear and $7ish for a larger container. I will find out for sure though.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

