Food in Season

eating locally all year long

Pear Cinnamon Jam

on April 23, 2012

Zechariah 8:12a The seed will grow well, the vine will yield its fruit, the ground will produce its crops, and the heavens will drop their dew…
This weekend I went and visited my CSA farm and since a local farm market is right around the corner I decided to stop. They had a whole bin of discounted fruits and vegetables. I got 2 packs of 5 pears for  .50 each!

Image

I got home and ate one and OH MY it was delicious. Then the canning bug bit me, and I decided to make some jam. I had read a recipe a while back for pear cinnamon jam. I decided to make it.

Pear Cinnamon Jam

8 cups of cored chopped pears
4 cups of sugar
1/8 cup lemon juice (half a lemon)
1 Tbs cinnamon

I found that each pear yielded about 1 cups of fruit. So I quartered each pear. Cut out the core and chopped – you do not need to peel the pears. I added the chopped pears and 4 cups of sugar to a pan.Image

 

Now you just cook on medium and stir the pears until they can be easily smashed by the back of a wooden spoon. Then you use a potato masher to mash them until they are a mostly smooth sauce.

 

Image

My daughter loves to help me cook! When they are mashed into the “sauce” add you lemon juice and cinnamon and let cook. Cook until the jam looks thick and passes the plate test. This will fill 6 half pint jars. Process according in a water bath canner for 10 minutes.

Image

One response to “Pear Cinnamon Jam

  1. Looks so yummy! Pears aren’t in season where I live, but when they are, I’m definitely going to try this! Thanks for sharing!
    Happy Canning,
    Beth

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

