Food in Season

eating locally all year long

Procrastination gets you no where fast!

on April 19, 2012

Proverbs 20:4 Sluggards do not plow in season; so at harvest time they look but find nothing.

I have procrastinated so bad on documenting my kitchen adventures! Even if I would have started in January I would have so many more things on record. I received a pressure canner in january and it has been put to good use already many times. I won a few contests for the “Urban Farm Challenge” I am in. I went to a local festival and got fresh maple syrup and stone ground local grains. I learned how to make no knead “5 minute” bread. I learned how to make a sourdough starter and make fluffy, healthy bread with no yeast. I learned how to make cheese (Yes cheese!). I learned how to make yogurt and yogurt cheese. I made from scratch pasta. I made my first pasta sauce from canned tomatoes from last summer. I canned pinto beans, black beans, ham and bean soup, beef broth, chicken stock, ham broth, zuppa tuscana, corn chowder, and chili. I created a compost bin from a trash can. I started my seeds for my garden this summer. So I wish I hadn’t been lazy, and started this blog many months ago. However, I can’t change time. So, I may bring up some of those past items and blog about them. I am hoping to post some recipes using the things I canned.  Here is an example my newest creation I made this last week and it was delicious! Sorry the pictures arent the best; I wasn’t thinking blog when I took them.

Rainbow Beans

1 pint jar pinto beans
1 pint jar ham broth
1 pint jar corn (or 1 can or equivelent frozen)
1 red pepper (or orange – or some of each)
3-4 green onions

Empty the contents of the ham broth, pinto beans (drained), and corn (drained) into a pan. Bring to a boil. Add red peppers and green onions. Season to taste. Reduce heat and simmer until broth gets thicker and peppers are tender. My two year old like this also. It had a bit of a southwestern fair to it. In the future I would like to get some of those  blue fingerling potatoes and truly have rainbow beans (red pepper, orange pepper, yellow corn, green onion, blue potato)Canned corn is in the picture, but I used frozen corn from last summer. It was the last of my summer corn so I had to put the can in the picture – that’s why its hiding!

4 responses to “Procrastination gets you no where fast!

  1. Renee' says:

    I can’t wait to hear about some of your past adventures!! Post about BREAD!

  2. devannh says:

    You didn’t tell me you won Urban Farm Challenge” ?!?! Congrats!!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

